Boundary Changes to South Derbyshire

Following changes to the boundary of the South Derbyshire Parliamentary Constituency, at the next General Election, the constituency will no longer include the Hilton County Division.

These changes will happen as result of the 2023 Review conducted by the Boundary Commission for England (BCE).

In December 2020, parliament passed the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 2020 and following the publication of Parliamentary electoral data in January 2021, the BCE - which is an independent and impartial non-departmental public body - began a review of all parliamentary constituencies in England.

Following its initial proposals in June 2021 and revised proposals in November 2022, on 28 June 2023 the BCE submitted its final report to the Speaker of the House of Commons.

The Government will turn the recommendations of the BCE into an 'Order in Council' and these recommendations will then be implemented for the next General Election after the date which the legislation is approved.

Should you wish to study the report and look at the maps for any other constituencies, they can be found here:

Heather Wheeler OBE MP says:

“As is always the way with parliamentary boundary changes at a General Election, it is never easy for a member of parliament to lose constituents that they have had the honour of representing. Hilton, Hatton, the villages in the North West and all their residents have been a huge part of my role since I have been Member of Parliament for South Derbyshire since 2010. It has been a privilege to serve them. I am, at least, comforted by the fact that they will now fall under the remit of Sarah Dines MP, the MP for Derbyshire Dales. She is a fantastic politician, a tireless campaigner for her constituents and I have no doubt they will find her to be a wonderful representative.

As is the way with most things in life, there is a silver lining to the loss of these wards. By losing the Hilton County Division, South Derbyshire was instead able to retain some of its north-eastern wards, such as Shardlow, Aston-on-Trent and Elvaston. These areas are an integral part of our local community in South Derbyshire.

It should be made clear that the reason for these changes is due to the fact that the electorate of South Derbyshire was well above average, and it was necessary for this to be reduced to fall into the average voter size per Constituency, around 86,000. This itself is largely due to the sterling work done by the South Derbyshire District Council since 2010, in not only making South Derbyshire so attractive to live in but also their initiating so many new homes so that those who wish to join our community have been able to do so. Looking forward to the election year, I am excited to engage with all in the new South Derbyshire Constituency on the issues that matter most to them and, as always, represent them in Parliament in a manner that of which they can be proud.”